Dev Doctor: The Prelude

Recently my work hosted a Fix Hack Learn event, where it had some of the characteristics of a hackathon, but included the flexibility for folks to work on some postponed, work-related tasks or learn something new. For me and my small team (just me and a colleague), I chose to start on something to help with developer setup. I call it `dev-doctor`.

What is Dev-doctor?

In short, `dev-doctor` is a tool to help with ensuring your development environment is up to snuff, thru a configuration file. Similar to how homebrew, npm, and other tools include a `doctor` command, dev-doctor is a way to have similar functionality for your entire application, CLI tooling, or whatever you like.

Can I use this now?

Well, not quite. It is still in the early days, and the initial set of commands need further refinement. More to come soon!

If you want a sneak peek, have a look at the repository. There’s also an early version published on NPM.

Leave a comment